Shopaholic wife caused heavy credit card debt

Hey guys!
The short version of what I have to say is: we are in a lot of debt and wants to get out of it somehow.
I will make it a little more longer to make you understand the situation. My wife is a shopaholic and I realized it only recently. She buys things she will never use. And before I knew about it, she has maxed out 3 credit cards and we are deep in credit card debt.
This is in addition to the house mortgage we are paying and the finance of our car. Her credit score is now very bad and mine is not excellent either. I had an argument with her, but what can arguments do here. The thing is we need to get out of it somehow and we aren’t sure about it how.
I am a Software programmer and earns just enough to live a normal life with family. A huge debt is not what I need.
The monthly payment as of now is too high and I am trying to reduce it.
Please try to answer a few of my concerns here and if possible advise me on how to handle it. Is it possible to reduce the amount payable if we try to do debt consolidation with her credit card debts? What all factors may ruin our chances of getting a consolidated debt approved? What’s our best way out of this situation? How will a debt consolidation affect our credit score?

It’s shocking to see this behavior accumulate without any prior warning, but to fix this once and for all you need to change the behavior that got you into the problem in the first place.

1. Does your partner recognize she has a problem? Will she cut down her spending to just necessities to help both of you dig yourself out together?

2. You don’t need things already bought? Return as much of it as humanly possible. Can’t return it? Time for a spring cleaning and garage sale.

3. Does your partner work? If not, it may be a good time to get a part time job to help with the finances.

Debt consolidation is an option but I think you have more work to do before that’s the biggest priority.