Robert Kiyosaki - your opinion?

I am new to Robert Kiyosaki, but am currently reading “Unfair Advantage.” So far, I think he’s a sheister. He doesn’t advocate paying down debt, looking at your house as an asset, or living below your means. He also thinks social security is a Ponzi scheme. Ummm…what? Has anyone else read anything by him, and what is your opinion? I did find some criticism of his methods on his Wikipedia page, but not much else. Thoughts?

I’m with you. I read Rich Dad, Poor Dad. It was 99% fluff, and then 3 pages at the end of actionable advice.

Haha, I’m on the opposite end of the fence. He completely turned my life around from the day I read “Rich Dad’s Prophecy”, I had an eye opening experience. When I was in a point in my life of trying to figure out if there was something more to life than working for the rest of my life, that book woke me up.

A lot of fluff and regurgitation of the same points? Yes. Does he give a step-by-step guide on what to do to get rich? No. Does he say some controversial things in his books? Absolutely.

But, if you take it with a grain of salt, he’s got some great points. His book “Cashflow Quadrant” was very good in my opinion.

I listen to a lot of very successful real estate investors in the Bigger Pockets podcasts and you’d be surprised to hear that a good majority say that his books are what got them going.

I’m going tomorrow to look at what could be my third investment property tomorrow (another duplex). Would never have started without his inspiration. :slight_smile:

– Jim

I have read a lot of his books. It seems a bit fluffy. I think it is good to read all that is out there and come up with your own thoughts. For me, I find his writing a bit self promoting but there are good points to take away. The cash flow quadrants that are mentioned above in particular. Much like Tony Robbins, he does like to talk about himself quite a bit…so that is a turn off for me.