Paid off $100k in SL in 18 months; kind of depressed now

Hey guys. I get that this is going to sound crazy, but I thought the people here might understand it more than, say, my friends and family who aren’t obsessed with PF.

I racked up $100k of SL just to pay for undergrad tuition (parents too rich for scholarships, but didn’t pay anything). After deferring while I got a free MS and PhD, living off of the bare-bones stipend, I got my dream job and blasted my debt in 18 months of extreme frugality, mad side-hustling, and a few lucky turns (i.e., moved to an expensive but walkable city so the proceeds from selling my car went straight to my balance).

I had been worrying about this debt for a decade, so the day I sent in the final payment, I expected to be euphorically proclaiming the good news to everyone, but instead I felt…kind of empty. I had a similar feeling when I defended my doctoral dissertation- this grueling thing was over and I should be so happy, but I found it hard to adjust to living without the obsession that had consumed me.

I don’t necessarily want to just sub in a new obsession, financial or otherwise, because maybe it was maladaptive to be this focused on something anyway. (I mean, I have a good life, but a lot of my mental space was used up by the debt pay down.) I’m already maxing out my retirement funds every year and I’m not sure if I’ll be buying a house in the DC area (bottom of the property ladder is $800k for the worst property in my un-glamorous neighborhood).

I feel bad about feeling this way, especially when talking to people (like my siblings) still under their debt. I can fake the appropriate feelings just to be socially acceptable, but I wonder if other people have felt this and what they did about it.

I suggest you set your good habits on auto pilot and start living!