Is 2017 a best time to own a house?

Hi, I am just a newbie in real estate related things. So I thought It might be better to seek advice from an industry profound person.
I am planning to own a house near downtown Toronto by this year end. I doubt policies of new US president may affect my plan( I know he is unpredictable).
Do I need to wait or invest that money in something else?

Great that you’re educating yourself before jumping head first into a big investment decision.

I’m not going to give you specific advice on the housing market, if which there are certainly more than one in the US (all houses in the entire country are not equal), just some general advice: Be careful of following any one advice. Someone who categorically claims to know how a market will perform in the future is a conman. We’re all just guessing!

I’m sure a great discussion will follow, so explore the various viewpoints further, and in the end make an informed decision on your own.

Easy, right? :wink:

I don’t know much about the Canadian real estate market, but I’ve heard a lot about how Toronto prices are inflated. What really matters is why you want to buy real estate, and how much it will cost relative to your income. Can you afford to put a good amount down, and easily afford the monthly payments? If the price is cut in half, can you still keep the home? Do you have a solid emergency fund in case of job loss or the need for repairs? Are you able to secure a mortgage with a good rate, at a comfortable payment amount? Are you planning to stay for many years?