Introduction to SEO for a beginning blogger

Hey rockstarfinance!

I’m just getting into SEO, and its really overwhelming. I’m wondering if anyone has any advice for small steps I can take to improve my blog’s SEO. My website is Akashsky.com

@millennialmoney has imparted a lot of advice on that issue in a thread here: http://forums.rockstarfinance.com/t/free-seo-help-for-bloggers/648

It can look a little overwhelming to go through, but just start a little at a time!

I’ll check that out!

My advice: Understand that “Search Engine Optimization” isn’t some magic pill that, if swallowed, will instantly make your blog #1 on Google. It doesn’t work like that. I find that a lot of people overcomplicate SEO, but it doesn’t need to be complex.

Understand that you could do everything right from an SEO perspective and still be nowhere to be found on Google. Chasing the #1 spot on Google is tough to do - it takes experience and the right circumstances, and yes, maybe a little bit of luck as well. Time is your biggest friend when it comes to SEO.

Content is king. Your #1 priority to improve your SEO should be content. Not writing click-bait headlines. Not meta-tagging the hell out of your posts. Not trying to use some clever trick to make Google think your page deserves Page 1 status (because Google probably thought of that trick before you did!).

Keywords are queen. If you’re writing about student loan debt, then be sure that the phrase “student loan debt” is in the title of your posts as well as towards the top of your article’s content. But, be realistic and understand that competing with the phrase “debt” in Google probably won’t be fruitful. “Debt” is a very common word. Millions of blog posts talk about debt. If you try to compete for highly-competitive keywords, you’ll lose almost every time.