Home renovations

What’s your take?

We’re currently renovating a bedroom to make it ready for the forthcoming arrival of a tiny human, and, unfortunately, we’re probably going to do the guest room/office as well :frowning: Aaaand tear down a wall to get a wardrobe installed in our own bedroom.

I’ve found zen in a lot of strange places since becoming a homeowner, such as lawn mowing, hedge trimming, weeding and what not, but I’m just not getting it when it comes to renovation like this. The not knowing what the heck I’m doing for the most of the time, and plastering, sanding and getting dust everywhere, putting up wallpaper (the worst!!) is sooo boring and all I wanna do is cry.

I would seriously be contemplating outsourcing these jobs if my spouse didn’t insist on us doing it ourselves. It’s good for our finances, but bad for my mental health! :grin:

Any suggestion on how to alter my mindset?

You are not alone. I’ve been a construction project manager for most of my career, and I’m with you. I do not get enjoyment out of remodeling. I am a real estate investor also and when realtors hear of my background, they wonder why I don’t want fixer upper properties. When properties do need minor repairs, like carpet and paint, I always outsource. I also worked on both residential and commercial projects, and the homeowners are always stressed no matter what. Construction Project Management is at the top of the list when it comes to stressful jobs. I have colleagues who love to work on their own houses and remodel, but not me. When I was younger and new in my career, I used to love being on a jobsite and seeing the progress, but now it just feels noisy, dusty and wasteful. Like you, I’d much rather be weeding… sitting in the sun, fresh air, digging through soil, listening to the birds… :slight_smile: