Hello from The Graying Saver

Hey all, this is Brian at The Graying Saver. I’ve been checking out the Rockstar forums for a couple months and finally decided to say hello.

As my site name suggests I am a member of the 45+ club. I’ve been on the path to FIRE since August of 2016 when my wife and I met with a financial planner after realizing that my wife would be retiring in about 10 years. I wondered if it was possible for me to do the same and stumbled across an article in the Washington Post about a family with 13 kids and the parents were planning to retire early. The article led me to some of the usual points of entry into the world of FIRE: the Mad Fientist, MMM, and others. Suffice to say my mind was blown and I have been ravenously exploring this awesome world of new possibilities ever since.

I started blogging about our journey to FI in April of this year. I don’t write much about the nuts and bolts or how-to aspects of FI - many other bloggers have done this and continue to do it very well. Much better than I could. Instead I write more about the journey, the ups and downs, the wrong turns, and the occasional feeling that maybe we’re getting somewhere.

One aspect of our journey to FI that is maybe a little unique is that we own a second home - a cabin in the mountains of North Carolina. Figuring out how and whether the cabin fits in with our FI goals is an ongoing process. A question not easily answered. We’ve set a goal of paying it off in 5 years and I’m tracking our progress on the blog. We’re 10 months in and so far so good.

Looking forward to participating on this forum and thanks to all for being such a welcoming group.

Welcome! I’m looking forward to hearing more of your story.