Greetings From Money Miser!

Hey Guys/Gals!

Andrew from Money Miser here. I just discovered this awesome forum full of like minded bloggers, how didn’t I discover this sooner?

I’m a relatively new blogger in the financial freedom spectrum and try to cover topics highlighting a strategic route to FIRE using a business perspective. I’m also an advocate of pursuing financial freedom without restricting yourself to total frugality, so a lot of my articles cover this concept. You have to find a healthy balance between saving and spending to ensure you stay sane on the (long) journey.

A little about myself, I live in Vancouver, Canada but I’m originally from Liverpool, England. I’m an accountant by day, a student by night (CPA) and a blogger in between. I’m recently married to a non-FIRE motivated lass. I managed to convince her to get on board with my plan and thankfully she is super supportive. We’re hoping to retire by 40 (29 now) and need to hit about a 55% savings rate from here on out to do so. It’s going to be a long journey!

Anyway, enough from me. Hopefully I’ll get to discover some other awesome blogs on here.

• Andrew (Money Miser)

Hi Andrew,

Welcome. Glad you found us.

Wow, we have so much in common: CPA, living in Canada and also been blogging for only a month.

Stick around, you will love RSF

Welcome to the forums, Andrew! I’m so glad my husband and I were on the journey together. It certainly helps when it comes to making every day decisions - in addition to major ones like where to live, housing, cars, etc. I think you’ll find the forums a great place to hang out and learn. You’ll have a lot to share in your journey as well!

Wow that is a lot of similarities! There seems to be quite a few accountants in the community. If the shoe fits, wear it!

Where in Canada are you based? I feel Vancouver has a pretty difficult environment for FIRE, I imagine Toronto does too.