Executive MBA

I am thinking of doing an Executive MBA part time while working but here are the few things I need to figure out:

My job will not pay for it but they are ready to give me days off for studying and exams. I could always try to change compagnies to get someone to pay for it.

The program will take me a little under 2 years to complete.

We are planning to retire in roughly 8 years… I am on the edge, thinking if it is worth it to study 2 years to work another 6 or so.

All my retirement calculations are based on my current income, even without an MBA, it’s just 8 years! (according to plan)

For the next two years, I would have to work full time and go to school every weekend. I work super close from home, school would be a 40min drive…

I have been working full time now for over 4 years, I don’t know how it will be to get back in the books.

Lots of things to think about, what do you think and what was your academic path? :smile:

Would your MBA help you change job paths or change jobs within your current company? Is there a set path to a higher income from getting your MBA?

I looked closely at doing an Executive MBA, going so far as to apply to some programs. But the feedback I got from friends in my industry that have done regular MBAs was that it is mostly for the networking. Unless they needed it to change industries, it didn’t up their pay. I spoke to some senior members at my hedge fund who said the same thing - Do it if it makes you happy, but they don’t really care about it.

Since my “retire” date was 6 years out when I was looking into it, the $80k+ investment didn’t make sense for me. I started my blog instead, figuring I could directly work doing what I was interested in (family finance education) while I waited for my retire date and potentially create a small source of side income for when I retire.