Ethics of plasma donation: exploitative?

So, I’m sitting here giving plasma, literally right this second as I’m on my phone. My girlfriend is a do gooder. I love her for it. She’s been to Africa, Haiti. She got me in to giving blood. Then she switched to plasma because she could give more often. So I want her to be happy with me, so I’m a team player. I started giving blood, and this is my first time giving plasma.

Now, as soon as I walked in, I realized, this ain’t the big red bus. There’s a long line of the poorest people I’ve ever seen. And I thought, oh my God, they’re taking advantage of poor people who are so desperate, they will give anything from their body to earn a dollar. They would sell a kidney, and this business would take it, if they were allowed to.

Honestly, I feel dirty for taking part in this system.

Has anybody ever done this for the money or to help people or to earn points with their girlfriend or another reason?

What are the ethics of this?

I put this under “earning” because some people here may do this to earn Apple Watch money.

I don’t know enough about plasma? Is it dangerous to give it? Is it bad for our bodies to this? Is it as invasive as giving a kidney?

Ethics aside, I’m glad some people are willing to donate. When my daughter was hospitalized with Guillain-Barre syndrome she needed several courses of plasmapheresis. Without a steady supply of plasma, that treatment would not have been possible.

As a struggling single mother I sometimes sold my blood for $6 a pint. Heaven knows what the collection service charged the hospitals for this commodity.

I’ve given plasma a number of times, but it was always in Canada where they weren’t allowed to pay you for it. So I did it just for the cause of helping those who needed it. Since I would give without getting paid, I assume (since I haven’t looked into it since I moved to the US) that I would still give while getting paid and not feel bad about it.