Blogging Help

I recently reach out to J$ directly for some help / advice. He did give me some great tips, but also suggested I start the conversation here. Which I think is a great idea. I’m sure other could benefit as well. So here goes.

I have been blogging for over three years now and have seen slow and steady grow on my site. Going from under an average of 20 page views per day to know over 200. I certainly see spikes when featured on RockStar Finances or other major sites.

I just feel like my growth has been very slow. Things I’m doing, I’m active on social media, comment on other sites, guest post, been a podcast guest, host a interview series, and have a number of back links to my site from larger sites. I post twice a week and have 401 posts with a good SEO scores.

What am I missing?

My goals with my site:
continue to share our story with debt and money posting twice a week.
Provide usefully information.
I want to do more speaking events. I still find there are so many people that need help.

I want to grow my audience. I do bring in about $100 a month now. Which is great cover the cost of running my site and then some.

What are your thoughts? What things work for you? Are there resources I should be looking at? Bring on a coach?

I can’t give solid advice because I’ve just started blogging, but I’d ask how are you marketing?

I don’t know what channels you’re on, because (like most PF blogs) its mostly just an RSS feed: and that’s not what I use twitter for. While I’m treating CreatingFI’s twitter account that way, I also link to my personal profile where I interact on the platform in an actually social manor.

Good question. What were the great tips that J$ gave you?

This is a great question. I see some sites with 150 comments on one post and I’m like “HOW?” It has to be some combination of engagement and content, right?