Old Employer 401K Question

My husband quit his job a year ago to pursue his own business. He never contributed to his 401K for the 10 years he was with his former employer (I know, I can hear the gasps). So there’s $28,000 sitting in his old 401K doing nothing because we’re only making contributions to my 401K with my current employer. What do we do with his old 401K that’s just sitting around making about $10 a year? Cash it out and invest in index funds? Transfer it into an IRA? Leave it alone for a rainy day? I’m just not sure what’s the best move.

I’d roll it into an IRA and invest in low cost index funds. With $28k you could go directly to Vanguard or Fidelity. Check out The Simple Path to Wealth by JL Collins. He talks about specific low cost index funds to invest in to get started. You can call Vanguard and they will walk you through the steps to roll over the money.

Disclaimer: I’m not a professional CPA/planner/etc

Don’t cash it out as, unless you are over 59.5, that would incur penalties as well as taxes. You can do a direct rollover to a Traditional IRA w/o penalties/taxes - just make sure it is a direct rollover. Another option is to roll it into a Roth IRA, but it will be taxable income. Depending on your tax bracket/situation, it may not be much of a hit. If the new employer has a 401k, he could possibly do a rollover from the old plan to the new one.

Depending on where you live, staying in a 401k may offer some protections that IRAs don’t (such as from lawsuits/bankruptcies - but varies amongst states)

ETA: since you mentioned pursuing his own biz, I believe rollover to a SEP-IRA is also allowed.

I would definitely not cash it out. You’ll have to pay taxes and the 10% penalty if he’s under 59 and a half. If it’s making $10 per year, what is it invested in? It sounds like it may be in cash, which won’t be useful over the long term.