More stuff vs. more experiences: I think the choice is clear

"“We buy things we don’t need with money we don’t have to impress people we don’t like.” Dave Ramsey

A reoccurring theme in my family/friends/community is the constant budget battles between buying more “stuff” vs. investing in more experiences, for entertainment and family time. In my experience, more stuff never satisfies. It is just costs money, is more to take care of and more to fix. More experiences, on the other hand, make lifelong memories and many times don’t break the budget because they are cheap or even free. I remember as a young dad paying a ton of money for large Lego sets (stuff) only to have the kids appreciate coloring with dad on the cardboard box they came in (experience) more than playing with the Legos. Does anyone else ever run into this and what do you say to help people get it before they bust their budget?

I’ve had a lot of experiences that definitely aren’t cheap, but as I get older (43), I almost have an aversion to stuff and I’m constantly seeking out new experiences that challenge my comfort level and intellect. Having less stuff frees me to pursue these types of experiences.

The cool thing though about not wanting a bunch of stuff, is that I don’t worry at all about theft. No one can steal my memories from me. :slight_smile:

Regarding stuff: not wanting it is as good as having it. It’s really true.

I love that!

We keep every amazon box so that my son and I (or his mom) can color on it! Nice example…

If deciding between those two options my wife and I almost always choose experiences.

But I’d like to introduce a 3rd category: Giving.