Greetings from a Canadian blogger in Switzerland

Hey everyone!

I’m Janet and I’m a Canadian now living abroad in Switzerland. My story is a bit long and winded but you can read more about it on my blog (www.mytwentycents.com). Basically I used to be a CPA and then I quit my job to go to school in Switzerland!

I heard of these forums through the EBA forum (for those who don’t know, I’m taking Elite Blog Academy and trying to make my blog my full-time gig). I’m really excited to be here!

My blog is still fairly new and I now have 14 posts up talking about my career and all that. Stay tuned because I’m going to post fairly often going forward. My next post is going to be about how my mom bought a house and forged my signature and I ended up having to pay for it! :slight_smile:

Welcome to the community. Your site looks great!

Sounds like a bit of a nightmare scenario with your mom, sorry to hear about that, but I am looking forward to reading all about it.

Hello fellow Canadian. Welcome.

I’m curious after school are you able to stay Switzerland extensively? Wondering how visa works.

Thanks for the kind words :slight_smile:
Haha it was a nightmare situation but it turned out for the better and made me almost a millionaire hehe :D!!

Hi Tawcan thanks for the warm welcome :)!!!
After school I get a visa to stay for 6 months to look for work. But if I find a job, I’ll still have to go through all the paperwork for a real work visa. It’s quite a pain… really.

Hi @mytwentycents,

Welcome to the Rockstar Forums and to Switzerland! Just saw that you’re based in Lausanne, assumingly for the IMD MBA? I’m Swiss and can usually be found in Basel. We sometimes pass by Lausanne when going for skiing. My Taiwanese wife loves the authentic Chinese food at “Chez Xu” in Lausanne (if you ever fancy tasty and affordable Chinese food: http://www.thelausanneguide.com/2014/04/where-to-eat-in-lausanne-chez-xu.html).